Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Southern Living

Leave a comment

It’s been awhile since I commented on Southern Living.

I have said before I miss MN  lilacs and Papa Murphys Pizza.  Bob and I confimed in the last couple weeks that we miss MN sweet corn.   I have purchased frozen sweet corn several times and thought it was tough and not very sweet.  Two of the last three purchases of corn (Furman Farmers Market and Travelers Farmers Market) were both tough and not sweet.  We didn’t even eat it after the first few bites so I can add sweet corn to my list of things I miss. We have tried swiss chard and so far haven’t found a recipe that grabs us but haven’t ruled that out yet as a good vegetable.  Made an ocra dish a couple nights ago with onions, green peppers, tomatoes and garlic.   It was ok.  Okra doesn’t have much flavor and if over cooked is slimey.   I have only had ocra as fried ocra , which I like, and  in soup so will try it again in a different recipe.  I have fried green tomatoes on my list of things to make.   The blackberries are WONDERFUL.   VERY VERY SWEET.

At least these last two years I like MN milder summer better but I still wouldn’t trade SC summer for MN winter.

The SC peaches are still fantastic.   I just made another pan of peach crisp.  I have heard I can enjoy peaches into Sept.

We went to our second of four lectures at Furman on Civil War to Civil Rights history.   This week we heard about what happend during reconstruction after the war.  From 1868 to about 1890 the life for the black population was on a forward track.  Then things changed and reverted back to what we now describe as segregation, equal but seperate and the Jim Crow laws which were in place until the 1950’s and 60’s.  Believe me. It’s both simple and complicated.  The history of the south continues to fascinate both Bob and I.

Coming from the north we didn’t realize we should have ceiling fans in every room in the house plus outside so we recently fixed that.  We added fans in the guest room and office.   The office feels 10 degrees cooler.   The third fan went outside under the deck by the hot tub.  We look forward to sitting down there in the fall when it is still warm but the leaves are changing.

Summer concerts and festivals close by are at least two days a week.  Travelers Rest will start Friday concerts this Friday and run into the fall.   I’m sure we will attend some of those once the temperature gets below 90, which doesn’t look to be any time soon.

Smoky and Sabrina seem to handle the heat better than Bob and I do.  I just make sure I always have water out for them.  Every month they get flea medicine and two kinds of tick medicine so no more ticks since Smoky had his trip to the vet to remove two big ones on his tail. 

One other thing I have noticed is I don’t wear shoes or sandles much any more.   I am barefoot most of the time in the house and only put on shoes when I leave home.   In the winter I put on socks, not shoes.  At night if my feet get cold I cover them with a blanket.  The other purpose of the blanket is that it entices Sabrina to sit on the lap.  Dual purpose blanket!

Hope your summer is going well.  Our next side trip is up to Asheville next weekend for a woodworkers exhibit.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 55 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers