Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

What’s different and what’s the same?

Leave a comment

Shopping is no problem.  Any of the stores back in MN are near here, even Target.  What I have not seen here yet is a Denny’s, Perkens, Papa Murphy (which I will miss),  and so far I have not found a grocery store that has deli selection like Cub or Byerlies which I also miss.  There are all kinds of Waffle Houses.  We have tried a couple of them and they really vary.  Some are good and some not so good. Being able to purchase wine and beer in the grocery store is great.

Driving around is different.  The roads are tree lined, two lane and wind around, not laid out at right angles so we really use the GPS.  When people give us directions it is usually by landmarks, often churches.  Many roads intersect at a Y which is taking some getting used to.  I love the amount of traffic.  I can get almost all the way to the grocery store, maybe 4 miles and often not even meet a car.   It is really pretty and relaxing to drive.   I catch myself thinking “I wonder how long it takes to get this plowed?  or   Must be icy on this curve.” and then I remember, not much snow and ice, no sand trucks, no plows.  I’ll let you know when we experience our first ice storm.

What I like least is the red clay soil and our really steep backyard.  We are trying to figure out who can mow it.  More on that at a later time.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

