Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Freymont Inn and Ed Simon

Leave a comment

After our snowstorm travels and the Cherokee Indian Nation we went to our Inn in Bryson City NC for a couple nights.  It is called Fryemont Inn and is on the historic register and built in 1923. http://www.fryemontinn.com/

Not fancy but very comfortable and friendly and welcoming.  Breakfast and Dinner are included and was very good.  The place is only on it’s third family owners.    Here is Bob in the huge lodge getting warmed by the fire.  Yes, that is his computer in his lap.  Rooms had no tv and no phones which I thought was great but I must admit it was wonderful to be able to see that the stock market went up 900 points.
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry to dining room

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The rooms were huge!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think for Bob and I the highlight of this stay was meeting Ed Simon.  You need a fireplace and a cozy place for this to happen.  On Tuesday night before dinner I was sitting in the lobby by the fire and this elderly gentleman started a conversation with me. I looked up the stock price while we chatted and we shared our joy to see that the market had improved.   We chatted for about a half hour and I expected to see him at dinner with his wife, who he spoke often of in our conversation.  When we got to dinner I saw he was all by himself.  I felt so bad to see him alone.  At the end of the meal I went over to say hi and he thanked me for making his day by telling me the market was up.   I asked him to join us for dinner the following evening.

The next morning I saw him before we left for the train ride and he told me that day was his 88th birthday and he was so pleased to be able to celebrate it with us.  He had called his daughter and told her he would not be alone.  We had one of the most enjoyable meals and conversation that either Bob or I can recall.  He is from Lake Charles LA and worked all his life for the phone company.  He has traveled quite a bit and was full of stories.  He was driving from LA, up to this Inn where he and his wife had stayed many times, was going to FL to see his daughter and neice and then back to LA,  driving all the way by himself.  I gave him a copy of my book for a birthday present and he was delighted.  I got his address and will be sending him the two photos we took of him and Bob and I.   We saw him again on Thursday as we were checking out.  What a wonderful experience. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

