Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Girls night out and building community

Leave a comment

Last Saturday I went to a Chocolate Pampered Chef party.   It started when I called to invite this neighbor I had never met to my Mary Kay Facial party and she invited me to hers.   There were about 10 women there and I met Two more new neighbors who I invited to my party.  People are really interested in making a connection.  Getting a “phone list” or “directory” of people in Glastonbury Village (name of our housing development) is one thing they are interested in as well as just meeting people and maybe doing a few community events together.

On Thursday I had my Mary Kay party and 7 women came, everyone I invited plus one who invited another neighbor.   We ranged in age from mid 20’s to late 70’s.  Tanya was also a big hit, she is one of the girls also.  One neighbor, Joy, is planning women’s self defense classes.   I handed out a sheet of paper to each of them and encouraged them to fill it out (name, address, a little about their family) and said I would start putting together a directory.  I gave them the one I filled out about Bob and I so they could learn about us.

One of the things I put on the form was “What do you have to offer the community?” and “What do you need from the community.”  So for Bob and I, I said we could offer computer network help, computer help, info on blogs, websites, publishing books and would be willing to house sit, take care of plants, pets, etc.   I said we needed a kitty sitter and a high school or college student to help Bob with yard work.   I also said I wanted to host a spa day this winter.   That was a big hit.   Several of the women made good use of our massage chair.   I asked if now we could go from being referred to as “the house with the big basement” to “the house with the massage chair.”  They said no, we were now “”the house with the big basement and the house with the massage chair.”  The women are from all over – California, Indiana, SC, NY, etc.

Also, last Tuesday morning, early, the neighbor Kathy who first asked me to coffee, called me again and asked if I wanted to meet her in Greenville while she waited for her daughter.  I said yes and we got to know each other better plus I found a nice new shopping center. 

I think I will have fun with this new group and maybe even find someone to go walking with or do yoga or tai chi with!  If any of you have ideas for us please let me know.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

