Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Paris Mountain Fall Colors

Leave a comment

It was a beautiful day on Sunday so I drove the three miles to Paris Mountain State Park.  The drive was beautiful.  I don’t know what I expected the park to be like but it exceeded expectations.  I got there pretty early, 11 a.m. and families and people walking their dogs and bicycle riders were just starting to arrive.  They have a nice lake there called Lake Placid with swimming, paddle boats.  Compared to Como Park the park is much more natural.   Many trees, lots of picnic tables.  By the time I left it was getting very busy.  Probably not a good choice to go on a Sunday.  In addition to the recreational purposes one of the mountains early important contributions was to provide very clean water to the city of Greenville.  I am learning that water plays a very important part in the history and growth of this area.

I have to admit my Minnesota heritage kicked in when I was driving the relatively narrow winding paved road.  I got a little nervous when I had to pass cars and when I had to back up because a truck and camping trailer could not get through I was almost scared.  Guess I better get used to it.

The mountain is more like a big hill.  The park was constructed in the 1930’s as part of the government Civilian Conservation Core.  All the roads, beautiful building etc. pretty  much build by hand with hand tools.  I bought our annual park pass.  Lots of hiking trails and nature programs at Paris Mountain.  There are 47 state parks in SC and about 10 are within an hours drive us us and another 15 maybe within 2 hours or less.   The rest are more toward the ocean, which is only 4 hours.   They have camp sites but many have rustic or not so rustic buildings so I look forward to exploring what is close by and staying for a night or two at those that are a little farther away.  One of our best trips was when we stayed in Northern California at a rustic log building at a state park.

Originally the building was a bath house but in 2006 they converted it to a educational area.   Beautiful stone work.  The steps could use a railing.

Enjoy the photos.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

