Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Observations on SC

Leave a comment

When I first moved here I did a post on my observations of living in TR.  Took me awhile to figure out that when the locals talk about Travelers Rest they just call it TR.

I found an incredible Whole Foods store.  About 4 times the size of the one I went to in MN.  Huge cheese selection, good deli.  I’ll be back.

There are hardly any Blockbuster stores.  I have only seen one.  That’s ok because we have Net Flix.

There don’t seem to be as many car washes and I don’t think I have seen a full service one yet.  Since there isn’t snow the car’s stay pretty clean.

Even little girls barely learning to talk have a southern accent.

The local newspaper has a story every day about two holiday fund raising initiatives.   Every day they list the amount and names of people who donated money.  Never saw that in MN.   The funds are each at about $5000.

There is no sympathy here for the big 3 American car companies.  BMW is a big provider of jobs here.  People would rather the government bail out the textile industry which has really suffered here.

Some things not so good.  It seems like almost every day the local paper has a story about a traffic fatality or a murder.   I noticed this even before I moved here.   Most often the murders are near the town of Anderson which is maybe 20 miles away.   The state is number 2 in violent crime.  Law officials are concerned that with the bad economy and people getting desperate to eat and pay the bills that theft will increase.  I’m glad we live out a ways and have a security system.

The weather is still very fine and the people everywhere are so friendly.  You will hear more on that later.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

