Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Odds and ends

Leave a comment

When we were in Charleston for Thanksgiving we walked down by the beach.  There were several kites flying.  By far the most impressive one was being flown by a man who owns a kite store and he made this one.   It is 12 kites and they swooped and swooshed and were so fun. The kids kept saying “lower, lower” so they could chase the tails.     For only $1200 you can have one too.

kite

I treated myself to lunch in downtown Greenville for my birthday.   I had a yummy creamy oyster and shrimp soup and shrimp with cheese grits.  It was so rich I brought half of it home.   When I got home there was a beautiful plant and box of candy from Bob and I got to read all the email birthday greetings and cards I received.  Although the day was overcast and misty it was 53, much warmer then MN is having.   My cousin in Denver said there weather shattered all kinds of records.   It was -19!!!

When we moved here I left all my plants behind, including my two beautiful Christmas cactus.  Bob remembered that and now I have a beautiful new one.  The flowers look neon.

flower

In my continued goal of becoming more knowledgable  on the history of my new home I wanted to go to the Upcountry history museum but it was closed on Mon.

The saying is “history is written by the victors” and I’m sure applies to the Civil War.  On all our trips out here we have driven by the All things Rebel Store and I finally went in there on Sunday and got my copy of  “The Un-Civil War – Truths your teacher never told you”.  I’m sure this ex northerner is about to get her eyes opened!!

Greenville also has a Museum and Library of Confederate history I want to visit.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

