Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Fay is on the board of Newcomers of Greenville

Leave a comment

I attended my first Newcomers spring social yesterday afternoon.  There were about 40 people there.  We all introduced ourselves and as soon as I said what I did the president said “we need to talk”.   A few minutes later we talked and they need someone on the board as the computer person (manage the membership database, maintain web calendar and website, print newsletter labels) so after talking to the person who is currently doing this it  sounded like not to much work.  I am looking forward to getting to know the board members better and I sure learn even more about my new home.

Most of you know that while I am social I am not much of a joiner in clubs or organization.   I have my  reasons for not belonging to anything.  This feels different and I am ready to make the commitment.  I am really excited about this opportunity to help out and meet people.  It feels like a very good fit.

The group has 400 members and all volunteer. They think they are probably the second largest group like this in the country.  Texas has a larger group.  I was really impressed with their calendar of events and the nice people I met.  At the social there were a couple women that moved here from MN.   Most newcomers seem to come from the midwest and north east coast.   Michigan, Iowa, Ohio, Conn., Rhode Island, New York etc.   Most were age 40-60 but a few women with smaller children.  Friday night Bob and I are going to Cocktails R Us gathering.   Yes, that is what the group is called.  There are two “coffee parties” each month, board meeting each month and lots of tours to area activities (tour of bascilica, antiquing, etc.),  gourmet food group, craft group, hiking group, garden group as well as many card/game groups and golf so lots to choose from.   Most of the activities are more women oriented but there should be a few things for Bob to go to.

Good thing I don’t work full time any more.  How would I fit work into my calendar?  These activities plus those in the Furman Life Long Learning program and all the Greenville activities should keep Bob and I from getting bored!

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

