Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Rock slide and what we have been doing

Leave a comment

You may have heard a few days ago there was a big rock slide at the border of NC and TN on I 40.  This is about 80 miles from our house.   They say it will take 3 months to clean it up and this is a HUGE deal for businesses with this being the fall colors time of  year and the holiday shopping season.  I thought  “How could a rock slide be that big?”   Check out this link and you will see a  BIG rock mess.   It is a miracle no one was killed.  I heard many of the rocks are as big as cars.

Bob and I have been so busy it is hard to get to the computer to update my blog.   That is a good thing.   Tonight Bob is at another wood craft class.   Today we drove to Asheville NC where the lower mountain colors are at peak  and we went on a “Legacy of the Land” tour at Biltmore Estate.  I will show and tell you more about that in a few days.   In a few words “Spectacular Colors and Tour”.  

A few days ago we toured Bob Jones University art exhibit of antiquities – items from Egypt, Palestine and Babaloyona before Christ.   Bob Jones is a VERY conservative university with a huge religious art collection.   Their is a dress code on campus – no pants for women and no blue jeans anywhere.   Young men wear dress slacks, dress shirts and ties!  In a couple weeks we go on a tour again to see more of the art collection.

We are making progress on Fay’s art studio and Bob’s work room.   A long story to be told later.  On Friday Fay is going to a pot luck/white elephant event for Greenville Newcomers.   I am making a wild and brown rice chicken casserole.  It is at the Greenville Womans Club which looks beautiful.

I hope some of you were able to watch the PBS series on National Parks.   We recorded it and I love it.   I am only on part two up till 1919 so I still haven’t seen the story of the parks in my mountains  (that is 75 years ago) – Blue Ridge, Smoky, Appalacian.  So after I watch this – are our next adventures visiting all the parks?   Definitely a possibility?  I certainly  want to explore that idea.   There are many parks and monuments I am not familiar with and look beautiful.

There is so much good energy when you are in these mountains.  They don’t have snow capped peaks but they have their own different majesty.  I love them!  I can tell Bob feels what I do when we drive through our new home land.   It is hard to describe.  Calm, peaceful, different in a good way.  Once again I can say that this feels like and is home.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

