Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Music and the holidays

Leave a comment

I’m so excited!    I just reloaded our 100 disk CD player with a  new batch of music.   That only happens a couple times a year.   Most of my listening tastes (75%) is instramental jazz and new age but I also have mixed in 70’s music, blues, old jazz, movie tunes, classical, vocals, island music and thanks to CD’s from my friend Kris’s collection – country.  That should expand my listening taste.   Don’t think we had a single country CD except for Nora Jones. 

The last 20 CD’s are Christmas/holiday  music.   Won’t start those for quite a while.  I ease into it with new age tunes that don’t sound so holiday like.   I still continue in my years long crabby mood on the materialistic nature of the holiday.  Don’t like that spirit at all.  I will probably break down and have a tree this year.  Some years that doesn’t even happen.

Holiday plans – On Monday we head up to the Biltmore Estate to see their Christmas season decorations with lunch at the Biltmore Bistro Winery and if we are lucky wine and chocolate tasting at the winery.  Getting there before Thanksgiving should help us avoid the crouds.  For Thanksgiving and Christmas we head to see friends in Charleston (4 hours) away and I hope get to see the Charleston incredible festival of lights that we saw last year.   Greenville has two light tours – one at Hollywild Zoo and one at Roper Mountain Park.   We are going with friends to see both of those.  Have two holiday parties with Greenville Newcomers – one a luncheon at a 5 star private club and one Cocktails R Us at a country club house.  Live music at the second one and a third holiday dinner with Greenville Woodworders.  For my birthday we will go to Asheville to look at the Gingerbread House exhibit and contest and have lunch at a really nice historic hotel/spa.  There are three holiday plays/performances (like Christmas Carol) in the area so I will pick one of them for us to see and last but not least there is the Festival of the Trees in downtown Greenville.   Guess I’m not as big a grinch as I thought I was!

Have to go.  There is a really good tune playing.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

