Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Knowing myself?

Leave a comment

The second class through OLLIE was Elder Wisdom Circle and I had mixed feelings about the class when I signed up.  

Over 30 years I have read many books, taken classess, attended seminars and retreats,  searched my soul, etc. so I don’t feel I have neglected my “inner self”.  I have had more then my share of  “self help”  and “personal growth”  information but in the last decade have had little  interest in another “get to know myself program”. 

Don’t get me wrong. All of that time spent learning about myself and others really did help and I did get to know myself better and made  changes because of what I learned.   It was good for me.  Now I am who I am.   I still need improvement but I am better than if I had done nothing and at this point do I still care?  Yes I do.

I’m glad I signed up.  Each week we will explore and give our opinion on  pre assigned two questions, one social and one more personal.   The purpose of the class is to help us listen to and understand others viewpoints on various topics and in our own interactions outside the classroom to continue that open dialogue.  The questions are not easy ones and I will be the first to admit that taking the time to do “deep thinking” on a topic is something I haven’t done but now will do.   It will be a good stretch for me.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

