Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Odds and ends

Leave a comment

Happy Summer Solstice!   Lots of hours of sun today for those of us who need that bright star in the sky to keep than energized.   I sure do.  I think I could get used to the long hours of sun in Alaska this time of the year but not the days of dark.

Peach season has started here in SC.   I heard SC produces more peaches than the Peach State Georgia.  I have already bought them twice.  YUM YUM.   We were in FL last year for peach season so missed it here.  I am really looking forward to all the different kinds of peaches that are available most of the summer.  Got my first tomatoes off my heirloom tomato plant this weekend and was really disappointed.   Didn’t taste like much at all.   Will try leaving them on the vine longer and see if that makes a difference.  My 12 oriental lilies on the side of the house are as tall as I am.  I have never seen them bloom and am really excited.   Looks like it will still be 1-2 weeks yet before they bloom.  They have buds.

We did have on catastrophe while we were on vacation.  After about the first week our freezer, full to the brim with meat and seafood, went out.  What a stinking mess.  Bless Bob, he did the worst of the clean up.  I couldn’t stand the smell.  This last week I have been trying to deoderize the freezer.  First washed with soda water, then sprayed with bleach water, then sprayed with soda water.  Shut door.   Not deoderized.  Filled freezer with damp crushed newspaper and pans of soda and left for a few days.  A little better.   Left open for a day, a little better.   Today I put in pans of  activated charcoal and turned it on.  Cross your fingers for me that it is ok when I go down to check it out.

After 8 weeks of class to build a workbench and another 3 weeks of fiddling with the workbench diagram and watching various videos on how to use tools, Bob went today to really build his workbench down at the Woodworkers Guild.  He is really nervous about doing it, especially the mortice and tendon connections on the legs.  It will have a real butcher block type top so he has to make that from individual pieces of wood.   Hope all goes well.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

