Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Who does what

Leave a comment

Now that Bob has been retired awhile and we are in a new routine I thought you might like to know who does what around the house and yard.  I think we have figured out a good balance that feels fair to both of us.

I do the cooking and Bob does the clean up, dishes, loads and unloads the dishwasher, sets the table.  I’m a messy cook so I really appreciate that.  We have been doing this for quite awhile.  We both usually get groceries.  Once a week we might have pizza, once a week maybe a fast food lunch, about half the time on days we swim it is Slimfast for lunch and about once a week go out for dinner.  Bob is really easy to cook for.  He likes almost everything and tries new things and compliments me often.

I do most of the laundry but   Bob knows how and will fold clothes or put loads into the dryer.  Changing the bed linen is a joint task.

Bob vacuums and I clean  floors, sinks, dusting (although the last one rarely happens).  I do have someone I can call to house clean if we get in a bind but we try not to have that happen.   We have a carpet cleaner so Bob does that.

Bob takes out the trash each week and he is the one who usually takes the cars in for oil change, etc., gets gas, cleans cars.  I have to say that the cars really don’t get very dirty here.  I noticed when we moved there weren’t a lot of car washes and now I know why.

Bob mows the lawn and does trimming.  Because our yard is so steep this is a hard task, especially when it has been so hot.   I take care of the outdoor potted plants which lately means watering every day and take care of the 5 knockout roses, spray for bugs, deadhead flowers. True Green does the fertilizing, aerating, etc.  We have a sprinkler system so watering is easy.

I do the routine maintenance on the spa and Bob takes care of emptying and filling it every few months.

The big new thing Bob does is pay the bills and keep up our Quicken bank accounts.  There was quite a learning curve on the Quicken stuff with all the bank passwords but he has it down now and is doing a great job.  I sure don’t miss doing that.

Doing our own cleaning and lawn work saves us quite a bit of money each month.

We equally pet and spoil Sabrina and Smoky.  I am the one that gets woke up by Sabrina at 7 to feed them and do most of the litter box duty but Bob will do it if I remind him.  She is quite the built in alarm clock.  Smoky often comes to bed a little before 7 and then I have both of them pestering me.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

