Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Southern Cooking

Leave a comment

When Bob and I were driving down the street in Charleston at Christmas I saw a guy on the side of the road with huge bunches of greens, I would say two feet long.  I asked our host what they were and he said collard greens.   I’ve eaten them a couple times in restaurants but this will be my first time cooking them myself.  Couldn’t decide if I should cook them with hog jowls or pigs feet.   I picked pigs feet.

Also am cooking up my first batch ever of black eyed peas, a New Years tradition in the south for good luck.  Bob’s a good sport to try them with me.  I’m not sure my pallet has adjusted yet to all the southern foods but I am trying.  Will have both collards and beans for dinner tonight with a rack of ribs on the grill seasoned with SC dry rub (a gift from a northern friend) and smoked with Jack Daniels wood pellets.  It’s 55 and cloudy here today.  At Jack Daniels whiskey plant, which we just visited near Nashville, they filter the beverage through oak charcoal.  When they are done with the charcoal filtering, which has now been thoroughly soaked in whiskey, they send it to a plant that makes the charcoal into pellets and then sells it to people to use on their grill and smoke the meat.   Should be an interesting meal.  No other special plans for New Years Eve but we are going to an evening dress up party on New Years Day.

Happy New Year to all of you.   May the new year bring  good health, happiness, peace and prosperity to you and all your loved ones.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 55 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers