Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Tron

1 Comment

You may or may not know I am a big science fiction fan. Tron was quite a movie when it came out in 1982.  It never was a huge success, the movie concepts were way ahead of the times.  I saw it when it first came out when I was about 30. Seeing Bruce Boxleiter, who I didn’t recognize, and Jeff Bridges when they were so young was fun.    I thought we could just get it through Netflix but they didn’t have it listed.   I was really surprised.  Went on line to find it and the first ones I saw were on Amazon for over $100.   Went to ebay and got it for $18.  I really wanted to see it before I see the new one in 3 D.  I got the 20th anniversary version which has the movie and another 3 hours of info, which I haven’t watched yet.

It still is quite a movie, a bit hoakey by today’s standards but definitely way ahead of it’s time.   I was curious where the 1982 production fit into the technology world.

  • The movie Space Odyssey 2001 came out in 1968
  • The first Apple computer came out in 1976 for $666.66
  • Star Wars first movie was 1977
  • Pixar, who wrote the book  on CGI (computer generated graphics), started in 1979  (Toy Story,Wall-E, Up, Monsters Inc. etc.)
  • The first IBM PC arrived in 1981
  • MS Dos operating system started in 1982
  • The first Tron 1982

I’m looking forward to seeing the “how it was made” extras in the DVD and can’t wait to see the new 3D Tron Legacy.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

One thought on “Tron

  1. Hi, Fay,
    I, also, am a BIG “TRON” fan and was most impressed with the new film. Bridges, as usual, is supurb and distinguished as he’s aged. The new film has greater depth and a better story and raised eternal, “perennial” questions about our meaning in life and our place in the universe and in cyberspace. Let me know what you think of the new film? Larry

Leave a Reply

