Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Spring is here?

Leave a comment

March 20, almost a month away, is when spring officially arrives but I am seeing signs of  spring already.  We were told when we moved here that the weather pretty much changes when the calendar changes seasons and so far that seems to be true.

Greenville had record breaking weather on Tuesday when the temperature hit 76.  I see daffodils flowering in gardens on my way to Furman.  Pansies looking good and even saw some tulips up about 3 inches.   That’s the good part.

What is not so good is that it is very dry here and grass fires have been seen in many areas.   On the way to our house on Monday we had a road a mile or so from our house closed with a couple fire trucks fighting grass fires. 

I knew in MN when it got to zero that the air was dry. We do have a humidifier that we run but I thought since it wasn’t so cold the air wasn’t dry.   I found out how wrong I was when I kept getting shocks in the house and I looked at the humidifier gauge and the humidity was 25% and I try to keep it between 35 and 40%.   Poor kitties got a couple shocks when I went to pet them.

I think I am starting to see a little swelling of buds on the trees.  Apparently there is more going on than just buds.   A high pollen count is 500.   The tree pollen count now is almost 1500 so I am among those with a stuffy nose.   As much as I like the windows open, ours are shut and I am running the hepa air filter to keep the air clean.   I know the day when we are covered in yellow pollen is not too far off.  We have the possibility of rain in the next day or so and I hope it comes to clean things up a little.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

