Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Gardening

Leave a comment

It took me less than an hour to get our landscape plants cleaned up and  ready for summer and trimmed them up.  Looks like everything survived except the Confederate jasmine vine.  I think I will replace that with a pink clematis.  The two new  peonies planted last year made it as did the mums and all my asiatic 12 lilies.  It is windy today but sunny and almost 70.   I cleaned the birdbath and fed the birds.  Bob will mow the back yard today if the ground is dry enough.   The burmuda grass in the front yard is still brown and dormant.  Kitties are flocking in the grass.  I fertilized the pansies as they have at least a month to 6 weeks before I replace them with summer plants, if I can wait that long!  Looks like our new maple tree has buds.   We were a little worried about it because it tipped over in a wind storm this winter.  We planted many ground cover plants last summer on one of our hills and they look good too.

The Master Gardner program has their big plant sale April 16 and I hope to find some unusual annuals there.  One of my friends in Newcomers is a master gardner and she sends me there newsletter and answers questions for me.   It really is different gardening in a different climate.   My latest questions was “when do I fertilize things?”

This yard, by plan, is so much less work than our place in MN.   What a treat because Bob and I aren’t getting any younger.  Bob will have to bring in maybe 3-4 yards of free woodchips from a tree place near us but that sure beats the 25-30 yards we had to get every couple years in MN. 

Hope your garden made it through winter and brings you joy this spring and summer.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

