Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Odds and ends

Leave a comment

Forgot to mention that my herb garden is doing well.   Everything is in pots and up in the screen porch or the deck so very close to the kitchen.   I have dill, 2 kinds of basil, thyme, rosemary, oregano and of course a pot of catnip.   Last year cats had no interest in it but lately Sabrina has been getting into the dried nip so maybe one of them will like it this year.   So far they totally ignore it.

I got about 3/4 of my potted plants and outdoor plants fertilized.  It was such a nice day so a good excuse to get outside.   I think I even got a little pink color in my cheeks.

Bob has already mowed the back yard three times and the front once but we only had to shovel snow once.   There are two different grasses and grow very differently.

We have a few squirels at the bird feeder but not enough that they are a nuisance.  They seem to eat up the dropped bird seed and that means the seeds don’t sprout so that is good.   Absolutely no problems with deer or rabbits or other creatures.  This really surprises me because we are in such a wooded area.  I don’t miss the smelly stuff I had to spray on everything  in MN and the fences I put up to keep the deer from eating everything. 

A perspective on our landscape and how much less work we chose to do here – We replaced a jasmine vine that had died with a clematis and now I think all the planting in the yard is done.  I get tempted to plant more but the soil is so rocky and hard and then it is just one more thing to take care of and we are all about life being easier.   In SC I had two wheel barrow of stuff to clear up after winter.   In MN I had about 400 gallons of trimmings.  That’s right 8 to 10 – 55 gallon garbage cans in the spring and easily that much more through summer and fall.  Bob put down a very thick layer of mulch – 8 yards here.   To just get a thin layer in MN it was 40 yards.  Much easier plus much less expensive.

I do miss the lilac trees.  They might grow where our house is but I’ve heard they don’t have a lot of fragrance and that’s what I like.   I have not seen any homes that have them.  Soon the magnolias will bloom and some of them smell good.  The iris’s here are almost done blooming.  I have a friend that is trying them in pots so am curious to see how that goes.  This is my friend who is a Master Gardner.  The yellow pollen is almost done making a mess on everything so then we can power wash the porch, deck and wash and wax the cars.

We have on our list to do a picnic and walk on Paris Mountain one day very soon.    There is a lovely little lake there called Lake Placid and it is just the right size to walk around and all flat land which you can’t say about most of Paris Mountain.  There are picnic tables and lots of shade and if we go during the week not too many people.   Below is the lake in the fall.

I have not seen the bluebirds for awhile so hope they still are building a nest in the birdhouse Bob built last year.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

