Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

South Carolina Produce

Leave a comment

My neighbors across the road have their blueberry sign out so I plan on picking my gallon of  blueberries for $5 tomorrow before it gets too hot.  I’ve been advised to allow plenty of time when I go to pick berries because the elderly couple like to visit and that’s fine with me.

Local peaches are in and that will be my next stop after the blueberries.   I couldn’t get enough of them last year.  I bet without too much trouble I can come up with some delicious recipes for both.

Furman University Farm farmers market is open on Mondays from 3:30 to 5:30 and I signed us up for their CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program starting for us on July 12.  I have never done that before and am really excited about getting all kinds of fresh vegetables.   It is $80 a month.   I figure I will try it for a month and see how it goes.   It’s great you don’t have to sign up for the whole season.  Fresh carrots, beets, potatoes, beans, radishes and who knows what else!  Bet I have to find some new recipes for some of these veggies.  From what others have told me you get plenty of food.

I am trying to cook more nutritious foods with more fruit and vegetables and less meat so this is a another good step in the right direction.   I do admit it is hard to break a lifetime of the “red meat” habit.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

