Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Fay and Bob Woodworking

Leave a comment

I have made quite a few pens with exotic wood and I think they are really pretty.  I have sold quite a few and we just bought a bunch more exotic wood.  The red one is called blood wood.

Bob made me a box for my handmade greeting cards.  I can change out the cards to match the season.   I love it.

Bob is making his first comissioned creamation box.   He is really reasearching the various finishes to put on wood.  The picture is the practice creamation box he made out of poplar.   The one he is making for my friend is out of cherry. I think her name will be engraved on top. He might already have comissions for a couple more.  You can see he has already progressed to doing inlaid wood. The finish on this is so smooth.

We met another woodworker who lives near by and  who does engraving on wood, glass and metal and will see how we can incorporate that into woodworking.

Bob and I have a new craft we will be trying out in the weeks ahead – bandsaw boxes.  They look hard but actually are something that with some practice I could make.  Here is an example of what they can look like.   WE DID NOT MAKE THESE.  The variety of the boxes is immense and just limited by your imagination.
The other thing he recently made for one of my friends is a muddler for smashing the mint mojitos and mint juleps.  It turned out good. He made it out of hard maple.   I haven’t sent it to her yet but I think she will like it.

Bob continues to help out with the technology at the Woodworkers Guild so maybe goes down there once or twice a month for that.   The next Guild meeting is on finishing furniture so we are both looking forward to that.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

