Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Our social life and volunteer activities

Leave a comment

It’s been several months since my time on the board with Greenville Newcomers ended and I have rested and also made good use of the extra time.  I joined the Travelers Rest Business Association but so far that is just meetings once a month and networking at the meetings.  I don’t know if it will grow beyond that.  Time will tell.  I love our little town and am willing to help.   I checked into running for one of the openings for City Council but even though our address is Travelers Rest we live outside the city limits for City Council member.

You know I have been active in OLLI, Osher Life Long Learning Institute,  at Furman as a student.  I am now on the Curriculum Committee for planning our Friday one time events each term.  We as a group come up with ideas for tours or speakers and then follow through on planning it.  My two ideas were “Tour of American Legion War Museum” and “A day in the life of a Secret Service Agent”, both programs I have experienced.  I will do a third one “Tour of Children’s Museum”.  These are for winter term.  I will write up the info for the brochure, send out reminder emails before the event, check people in for the event, make introductions, etc.

I think it is a very good fit for me and Bob has already volunteered to help me if there are big groups. Not too time consuming or a lot of regular meetings and certainly something within my interest and skill level.

I have been asked to be on the board for our Home Owners Association.   I need to find out more about what that would involve.   At this point I am interested but don’t have my mind made up.

I continue to meet with “the Tarot ladies”  every few weeks and these 4 women are becoming good friends.   I somehow have become the organizer for the gatherings and our “assignments or homework”.  For example this last assignment was to research the meaning of a number and try a larger tarot card spread.  Sometimes we actually get to the assignments.

Every month I go to the greeting card gathering which is now up to 7 – 8 people, two of my Tarot card friends just joined.  I have been meeting with them for about 6 months now and so getting to know them better.   Three I know well from Newcomers.  Some of us go out for lunch so make an afternoon of it. Through my connections our card teacher Mary will now be teaching a card class for OLLI winter term.  I’m so pleased for her.

Bob continues to be involved with the Woodworkers Guild and their technology committee and I go to the programs and classes that interest me.   He always likes it when I go too.  He has his monthly Romeo group (Real Old Men Eating Out).

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

