Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

More wood creations

Leave a comment

Our workshop continues to be busy.   Bob and I took a class at the Guild on making bandsaw boxes.   Even though we have some past experience we really learned a lot in the two evenings and are very glad we took the course.  Bob also made a box like the large center one.  Fay made the one with the different shape on the left and Bob made the square one on the right.   These are maple or spalted maple. The center box is about 8″ by 5″.

I have been practicing with my scroll saw and was trying to find something to do with my practice pieces.   They are just out of poplar so don’t really have a pretty finish so I decided to use up some of my paints and stickers.

These are at most 4″ high.   The cat has red eyes and a little red dot on it’s nose.  I also did three round Christmas ornaments with cute 3 dimensional stickers on them. The butterfly is by far the hardest thing I have done.   The first one didn’t turn out great but this is my second one and I am pretty pleased with it.   Those little antenna were tough to make.   Next I will try some cutting on better wood.

Our pens keep going out the door as fast as we make them. Some of the ones from our exotic wood are really breathtaking.   I did one from striped ebony that is gorgeous.  We have a new tilted wine bottle holder that is really fun and we gave many out as gifts.   The finish is still drying on the remaining ones so no photo yet.  We have also given quite a few of our boxes as gifts and people seem to like them.

On the downside I found out recently that if I don’t have an apron on and am sanding and get the sanding dust in my jeans and t shirt I start to itch, a lot.  I dug out the benadryl and itch cream last night.   The wood I was working with mostly was mahogany and also a little walnut.   I know walnut is a wood many have a reaction to.  No rash or redness just itching.  I will definitely have to be more careful.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

