Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Hobby Time – Woodworking and more

Leave a comment

It’s been awhile since I posted any photos of what Bob and I have been working on.  Enjoy!

Bob and I just got over colds and that slowed us down a little.

Today I just got a new kit to help me take better pictures.  I don’t think it provides enough light but will play around with it some more.   It’s a start of something better than a white sheet for a backdrop!  Really a pretty good deal for $38.  There are two lights, four different color backdrops and a tripod for the camera and all in a nice carrying bag.


This box is maple and walnut and I really like the shape of it.   It is about 8″ long.


When we were at the Woodworkers Guild for our band saw box class we saw someone working on what he called “tiny boxes” and they were so cute.   We got the directions and here is our second one.  It is about 3 inches wide and the lid is hinged on little dowels.  It is mahogany and oak.   We will definitely make more of these.   It’s a good way to use up scrap wood.

For Valentines day we combined several ideas we have seen for boxes and made this simple heart box.   Once we figured out how to do it the construction was pretty fast.   The openings are drilled in.  The box is mahogany and is about 3 1/2 inches.  The inside is flocked, like felt.  I think it is really cute.  We can use the same concepts for almost any small box shape.

We tried another natural edge box but with a much different bark than the first sycamore ones.  I think it is made from a cotton wood tree but no one at the Guild knew for sure.   It is about 7″.

I also have been making glycerine soap and practicing my origami.

Some is scented and colored,  some with lavender buds in, some clear.  You can see the swan and heart origami.  I’m really, really excited that OLLI, at my suggestion, will be having an origami class next term.   Hope enough people sign up for it so the class is a go.   I have been wanting to study this more for decades but I’m not very good about figuring the folding out when I just look at a sheet of paper and instructions.   I do much better with videos.

Last but not least, we still make some pens.   These are from two beautiful exotic woods.   The striped one is Bocote and the dark one is Indian Rosewood.

I have a couple small boxes and two larger boxes that will soon be finished and made some Valentine cards. That is what we do to keep busy when not taking naps, swimming, petting the cats, going to classes or doing fun things around town.   More on those activities later.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

