Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

What a fantastic March this is turning out to be

Leave a comment

Another gorgeous day.   I have two very cuddly, curious cats keeping me company today while Bob is at the Woodworkers Guild building 3 tables for the new OLLI building.  He is really enjoying it and is learning a lot.  After the tables they have to make 12 oak chairs, 8 craft tables and eventually several  built in bookcases.

Today I planted in pots basil, oregano, rosemary, dill, thyme and cilantro.  I will definitely have an early crop.   Might have to replant later in the summer but that’s ok.   Also did a couple pots of caladium bulbs.  Bob has already mowed the back lawn once and trimmed some shrubs.   I see a few of my oriental lilies are peaking out and that my two peonies made it through the winter.   They weren’t looking very good at the end of our hot summer.

Unfortunately I see that the yellow pollen has arrived and I should keep my doors and windows shut which I hate to do.   The pollen gets REALLY thick and makes such a mess.

Even without any OLLI classes last week there was plenty to do.   I have never seen a spring come so fast.  There are still a few daffodils around but now phlox, tulips, Bradford Pear trees in full bloom as is forsythia and red maple trees full of red buds.   Cherry and redbud trees are blooming  and yesterday I saw the first azaleas already.  This 80 degree weather is really speeding things along not only here but all over the country.

I went to a really interesting round table discussion about Travelers Rest’s future development.   Some consultants are doing a follow up of a study done 10 years ago.   I learned much about Travelers Rests history and future plans.  Can’t wait to see the final report.

I attended the OLLI curriculum meeting and welcome lunch for new teachers and after that met for a little while with two of the ladies from my tarot class last year.

OLLI classes started today.

Thursday I went with 14 other ladies from Newcomers to the Columbia Art Museum, a 2 hour drive, and saw paintings from the Hudson River School.   Beautiful landscapes of the mountains and the river.  That was a long day.

Saturday afternoon we went to a GLOW (Greenville Light Opera Works) musical Rock Opera.  It was a high energy, fast paced performance with music from Hair, Jesus Christ Superstar, Godspell, Pippin and Tommy.  I didn’t recognize as much of the music as I thought I would.   It was fun. Everyone in the audience was our age or older which kind of surprised me but it was a Sat. afternoon performance.

Sunday we went to Furman to another musical Tomfoolery.  It was written in the 50’s and makes fun of everything and is still timely.   The students were brilliant.  I can’t believe how much talent they have.    This was an all student production.  The only problem was we both had a hard time hearing the lyrics.  I don’t know if their sound system wasn’t working right or if we have some hearing loss.   At intermission we moved closer to the stage and then we could hear fine.   We laughed really hard.   It was a great way to end the week.

The rest of this week looks to be again full of fun and learning.   Stay tuned!

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

