Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

The Merry month of May with OLLI and the Guild

Leave a comment

There were lots of fun and interesting activities for Bob and I in May.   Bob worked on the 8 craft tables for the new OLLI (Osher Life Long Learning Institute at Furman)  building.   The tables are done now except to be painted which someone else is doing. He helped move them with his handy little trailer to the workshop of the gentleman that will finish them.   Turns out it is very close to our house so Bob will probably go help him.  In June they will start on the 16 chairs which is a big new thing for all the woodworkers to learn.   One of our Newcomer friends, Dean, went with Bob to a Guild meeting(and joined)  and to the NC Woodturner’s Guild.  Bob enjoys his company and has a good time and Dean was really impressed with all he saw.

Bob finished his OLLI Elder Law class and we will follow up with the attorney to get our documents in order.  I finished my Origami class by learning to make the ever popular crane. Hope I can remember how to do it.   My Greenville Forward class ended and both of us went to a big community update event for Greenville 2025.   I had told Bob about what I learned but it was good for him to hear it in a presentation,  not to mention yummy snacks and adult beverages.   It was a fun night.  I can’t say enough about the good work Greenville Forward does.   What a treasure of an organization.

I organized a Friday extra event which was a judge from Greenville Probate Court.  He spoke a lot about wills, or the lack of wills, and the problems that can come up.  We had a great turnout and the audience had lots and lots of questions.   Turns out the judge is a supervisor down at the Woodworkers Guild and he recognized Bob.  The OLLI year ended with a spring lunch with BBQ pork and lots of fixings.  There were several hundred people there.  Everyone is very excited about moving to our new building next fall.

I met one afternoon with two of the ladies I took my tarot class with.   One just returned from 3 weeks in New Zealand working with Koala bears.  She had tons of pictures.   They are so cute.   This is my friend Jann who is an animal communicator and animal chaplain.

OLLI has a summer term in June and I will help with a couple historic house tours.   It’s nice to have a break for a few months.  What will I do with my time?

We continue to run into people that we know at a variety of events around town.  I figured out that OLLI has 800 members, Newcomers has 400 members and the Guild has at least 600 members.   That’s a lot of people and so I guess it shouldn’t be surprising that we see people we know.   It’s so fun.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

