Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

A busy last half of August

Leave a comment

Happy birthday mom.   You have been gone for more than 20 years but I still think of you often.  You were a great mom and I have so many precious memories of you.   I wish I had asked you more questions about your past.   Here is a photo of you when you were about 18.

Where do I start with all that I have done the last couple weeks?

You may remember I was on the Board of Greenville Newcomers for a couple years when we first moved here.   It was a great experience and I recommend it to anyone but I was glad to have more free time after those two years.   Imagine my surprise to get a call a couple hours before we left on vacation to be asked back on the board!  They needed a co chair for the Philanthropy Committee.  I had been on the large committee to pick our charities for this year and Martha the chair found she needed a little help.   Her husband is coming home from Afghanistan and she had some things she wanted to do with him.   I think she should take all the time she wants!   What a sacrifice she has made these last months.   I am glad to help and it will be fun to get the inside scoop on what is going on.   I did miss that.  It won’t be as much work as the technology position I had before.

Newcomers took a very educational tour of a local Fox news station.   It was so interesting.   My friend G. Ann and I got a Groupon for making some pottery jewelery so that was a new experience for both of us.   She makes beaded jewelery but nothing like this.   We are still waiting for it to be fired in the kiln.  Should be interesting.   The studio was in a massive, massive old textile mill.   I couldn’t believe how big it was.  What a shame to have all that sit empty for decades.  When I saw the buildings it really brought home what a huge industry the textile mills were in this part of the country.

Last week was the monthly Newcomer coffee and I haven’t gone for awhile plus it was really close to my house so that was fun.  Newcomers went out to a wild game restaurant Saskatoon.   Seeing elk, bison, ostrich, quail on the menu as well as steak and chicken was different.   A few days later a few of us went to the Mason Jar, a little burger bar in Greer and played team trivia.  I have to say even though we didn’t win we really had fun and I would do it again.

Through a Groupon I found a new acupuncture person.   In addition to regular treatments she does community treatments where 6 people sit in relaxing chairs in a room and she does the treatment.   It costs much less, only $25 and I will try that next week.

Bob is very busy with his woodworking project of furniture for OLLI.   He will spend at least a couple days helping install the 9 bookcases and he and one other fellow still have the 12 chairs to do.   Bob is challenged making all the pieces of the back fit together.   As soon as he gets a little farther along I will be able to help him cut things on the band saw.

We have a busy weekend coming up but more on that later.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

