Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Paris Mt., tea party, theater, concert, dinner, wine tasting and generally having lots of fun

Leave a comment

Last Saturday Bob and I picked up a couple Subway sandwiches and headed off for a walk around Lake Placid in Paris Mountain State Park, 10 minutes from our house.   It was a beautiful morning.   We expected it to be crowded but were pleased to find there were only a few other people out.  We walked around the lake then had lunch and got out our nice folding lounge chairs and read for awhile.     We take the easy flat mile walk around the lake but there are many, many miles of other hiking as well as camping opportunities. In the summer you can go swimming and use the paddle boats as well as attend concerts and nature lectures.   We haven’t done that yet.   Maybe next year.   What a great treasure of a park right in my back yard.   I think the pictures tell it all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Saturday night we went to one of Greenville’s very good restaurants, Soby’s Southern  Cusine.   It was their birthday party so we got $50 meal for $25.   Believe it or not we ate outside under a nice heater.   Our waiter was very fun.   We decided on an assortment of appetizers, dessert and a bottle of champagine, a not traditional meal but what we were hungry for.  I love their She Crab Soup.   It was a perfect evening.

Sunday we went swimming and then to an afternoon performance at Centre Stage of Angel Street, also called Gas Light and I think it was a movie under that name.  It was a suspense drama about a husband who is trying to convince his wife she is crazy.   Great 1800’s costumes.  I especially love the two servant maids. We had a buy one, get one free ticket.  As usual they did a fine job.

Tuesday lunch I went with four girlfriends to The Trade Street Cafe in Greer where I had arranged for us to have a tea party.   Little sandwiches and desserts, soup and of course tea.   We have been wanting to do this for a long time but I couldn’t find any place that would do a tea party.   We had a great time.  It’s a cute little restaurant and one I would go back to.  The owner is so nice.   I met her at a friends birthday party a couple months ago so that’s how I knew about the tea party service.

Wednesday I met in the morning with a couple ladies who I took my Tarot class at OLLI with a couple years ago.   We get together about once a month, mainly to talk but also do some learning with the Tarot deck.   I’m the most experienced so I end up giving assignments and people can do them if they want to.   I get a lot out of doing this because I rarely get out my deck unless we are meeting.   It’s fun to get back into it again.  Tarot is such an interesting thing to study.  I have studied it off and on for at least 20 years.  Even after all these years the cards still surprise me with how accurate they are.  After my class I bought a new deck which I really like and also probably the first truly new type of tarot deck in ages.   It is a transparent deck.   Hard to explain but very interesting to use.   I am still learning.  Really clever design.

Wednesday night we went to a free classical guitar concert at Furman.   It was a pair of musicians.  Akerman-Teixeira Guitar Duo.  Very good but not as good as the Milos concert we saw a couple weeks ago.    Now we really understand how VERY good he was.  One of the joys of being so close to Furman is to be able to enjoy their many music concerts both by professionals and by students.   Next week is a percussion recital.  I have never been to one of those.

Thursday night we went to a  wine tasting I got with a Groupon of Oregon wines at the West End Wine and Spirits.   We did buy some of the wine.  What was fun was just that morning I had been reading the Wine Spectator magazine and they had a huge feature article on Oregon wines, especially the Pinot Noir.  Charming is not a word I would usually use with a wine store but this place is charming.

OLLI classes are done for the year.   Our last “In Conversation” interview was with Sam Wyche, retired pro football player and coach, TV analyst, sports store owner and wearer of three various bowl rings.   Sports is not really my thing but he was interesting.   Bob and I were amazed about the details of the games he could remember of the teams, plays and the players.   There were even a few names I recognized like Joe Montana and OJ Simpson!  Classes start again in mid January.  For sure we will be taking a Southern history class covering about 1880 to 1925.   I might take another class too.

As you can see it is easy to do a lot of things here in Greeenville without spending a lot of money.   Another one of the things I love about living here.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

