Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Bluebirds and hummingbirds

Leave a comment

I’m still not used to thinking of birds coming in March but they do.   The bluebirds have been here all year and I see them around our house.   Bob put the second new front on the bluebird house he built.  Larger birds keep pecking the hole bigger.   Now he has a plexiglass cover around it and I also got a metal ring to go around the opening if they get through the plexiglass.   I don’t know if we have a nest yet but one of my friends already has a nest in her birdhouse.   I finally broke down and decided to feed them meal worms and bout a new hook and bird feeder just for that.   I have not been very interested in handling worms but really want to see the birds at the feeder.

So I went to the Wild Bird store and bought 500 worms in oat bran in a little plastic container.   I knew to put them in the refrigerator and that they would be dormant.  I accidentally covered the container which had tiny holes in it and I was afraid I smothered them.  I put a few out in the feeder but they didn’t move nor have they been eaten but it’s only 50 outside.   The store told me to feed them some apples or potatoes or carrots so after a week I decided to try that.  I put in some chunks of potato and left the container at room temperature for 24 hours so they could eat.   Well, much to my pleasure, when I went to check on the food I saw that my worms were VERY MUCH ALIVE.   I think this week it is too cold for the birds to come for worms.   I’m going to get some other food they like and try to attract them that way.Eastern Bluebird

March 15 I guess the hummingbird scouts can start to come to SC so I have my hummingbird feeder out.   So far I haven’t seen any but again, it’s a little colder than normal.   I took down the suet feeder to make room for the hummingbird feeder so definitely have some birds not happy about that.    Hope it warms up soon.  Wish me luck.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

