Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

I need a hug

1 Comment

Four and half years ago when I moved  to Greenville and joined OLLI, the first class I took was water aerobics taught by Dana Rae.  Eventually she stopped teaching but I saw her several times a week all these years while she did her water routine with me in the therapy pool at Furman.

Dana Rae was a book editor and was also updating a book she wrote years ago about being a caregiver for a cancer survivor.   She helped her first husband through that.  She wanted to do this new edition as a print on demand book as well as an e book and she has been a HUGE help to me in learning about how to do my book revision.  We talked a lot, not only about the new book but about many other things.  Her ailing mother, her dogs, her garden, her clients books, etc.

Since the end of February she has been battling a bad cough and hasn’t been at the pool lately.   I have been in email contact with her a couple times and left her a couple voice mail messages.   She lives close by and I have an Easter lily I wanted to bring her this week.   I had not heard from her.

Her husband called an hour or so ago and told me she died this morning from advanced lung cancer.    I’m having a very hard time getting my brain and heart around this.   Her family isn’t having any newspaper announcement or service here in Greenville so there is no way like that to say goodbye.  I feel bad.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

One thought on “I need a hug

  1. Oh, how awful. I’m so sorry – I’m sure you are feeling so sad and like you said, there’s no way to really say goodbye. We will keep you in our prayers, and her family as well.

Leave a Reply

