Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Getting caught up – classes, vacation, having fun

Leave a comment

Haven’t been in the mood to write lately but since I know you all miss me, I thought I should get you caught up on the last month or so.   All is well here and I have been busy.

My OLLI classes are over.   Psychology of Aging was interesting but a little more academic than I expected.   The biggest thing I learned is that there is a lot of benefit and science to show that our brains and personalities can continue to evolve and I am living at an age where great things are possible.  Change is also a good part of this age.

Bob and I tool Appalachian History from the Civil War to now.  It covered SC, NC, Virgina, W. Virginia and Tennessee.  Very good class where we learned about the Hatfield and Mc Coy Feud, the Tennesssee Valley Authority (TVA) work that made the big dams.   The culture of the people is interesting as is the art and literature.   The last class was on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

In April we had a week plus a few days in Ft. Myers and Clearwater FL.  We drove and saw several sets of family and friends, had great weather.   Our place was on the beach and not terribly busy which was good.  The time share was old and small but very well maintained.   Had a pool, hot tub and of course the ocean.  Saw dolphins, jelly fish.   Went on a couple water tours which we always enjoy.   It was a good combination of doing things and sitting around watching the waves roll in.  Loved the new Dali Museum, last photo and the Ringling Museum of Art.

DSCN0345 DSCN0315 DSCN0298

My time on the Newcomers Board.  I’m glad I did it for 3 years but glad it is done.   Now I am on the Board for Travelers Rest Artists Alliance, an organization that will be promoting art in the community.   Interesting and diverse board members and so far I am liking it.   You will be hearing much more of that.  Check out http://artintr.com

Bob nephew Jeff and his wife Sara came for a couple nights in mid May and we had lots of fun showing them around.   They loved the evenings in the hot tub and were excellent guests.   Would have them back any time.

Have also been working on painting and woodworking but the photos didn’t turn out great so need to reshoot them before I do show and tell.

Spring weather has been not as hot as last year and the state after three years is finally out of drought.  We have lots of inexpensive things planned close to home for the summer.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

