Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Pine Nut Syndrome

Leave a comment

My friends thought this was a joke when I told them about this.   Let me assure you, this is not joke.  It’s awful.

This is really weird. Wed. I noticed that everything I ate left a bitter and awful taste in my mouth.  I know antibiotics, medications, chemotherapy, etc. cause this but I did none of these.  Did some research on line and found that some people when they eat pine nuts (like in pesto) experience this. It can take 1-3 days after you eat them to notice the symptoms. Sure enough two days ago I got the munchies and ate a couple tablespoons of pine nuts, which I have never done before. Could last 2-4 weeks. It’s really a bad metallic taste.  Many of the people commented that they bought pine nuts from Trader Joes.

Apparently this is a well documented problem called Pine Nut Syndrome. Seems I am lucky to have figured it out so quickly and so far without some of the worse side effects. I am sharing this info with others since it is pretty unusual but certainly not rare. http://pinenutsyndrome.wordpress.com/pinenutsyndrome/

Today, Friday, after two days of misery and not being able to eat anything, I am better.  Food still tastes bitter but at least I can finish a meal.  Gum helps.

Message: Do not eat pine nuts from China.

The study above has lots more info.   I can’t tell you how miserable I was for two days.   I really couldn’t eat anything.   Hope tomorrow it is gone.   It’s not an allergy like peanuts.   Totally different. Make comments if you have questions.  Would not wish this on anyone.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

