Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Marquetry, painting and Sabrina

Leave a comment

I thought I showed you these  paintings that I did this winter but I guess I didn’t.

This was my first painting

wine_bottles

This was my second one.

painted_peacock

This was my third one.  This could be hung either direction.   Haven’t decided which I like better.   I think I want to do this one again in a larger format.

oriental
This one I did about a month ago

geraniums

Here is Bob’s first marquetry piece.   This is made with hand cut veneer.   Quite a complicated process.  He got frustrated at first and his workshop was not big enough for him to have all the equipment set up so he spent a lot of time moving things around.   This weekend he set up a permanent marquetry place in what we call the “clean room” and Fay’s hobby room.   It’s a big room so it will all work out just fine.   He has gotten lots more confidence now that he has made a couple pieces and will be going up to Asheville in a couple weeks to work with someone for the day.  There is  A LOT to learn to do this.   This piece is about 4″ by 6″.

marquetry1

This is his second one.   This is about 6″ by 8″

marquetry

And here is my little supervisor Sabrina keeping a very close eye on me while I putter in the kitchen.    She is never very far from me and is so curious.  By the way, that’s her stool.   Smoky has his own stool too.

supervisor

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

