Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

SC Night Life

Leave a comment

Went out at dusk last night, between rain showers, and can still watch all the little fireflies flitting about in the yard.   I have read that they are pretty numerous this year.   They bring back such good childhood memories.

Several days ago the cicadas arrived.   Once again this year they have forecasted a 17 year record hatching and are they ever noisy. Much to loud to be able to sit outside and enjoy the evening.   I know we have had them every year we have been here but I guess even more this year.   They last for awhile and then go back underground for another long rest.  I don’t see them but I sure hear them.  You can clearly hear them inside the house even with all the windows shut.   Here is what they look like:

cicada_498_600x450
For weeks I have known that some creature was playing with my birdfeeders and plants on the deck at night but I never saw anything.   One morning I got up and one of my planters had a plant dug up.   My humming bird feeder gets empties way to fast for humming birds to be doing it and three times the feeders have somehow been removed off the hook and dropped to the ground.   My big domed birdfeeder which is kind of chained to it’s  hook was on the ground.   HMM!   Last night I walked out on the deck just for some air and didn’t turn on the light, it was about 10 p.m. and I turned from the screen porch to look at the deck and this is what was looking back at me.
coonface1

He looked exactly like this. Our surprised eyes met each other and he scampered down the steps.   Don’t know what I can do to keep him away.   We have looked at battery powered motion detectors but they were kind of expensive.   Guess I will see what other mischief this little creature gets into.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

