Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Growing Mushrooms

Leave a comment

I’m so excited.   At the Travelers Rest Farmers Market on Saturday there was a new company who sells supplies to grow mushrooms.   They also gave a really interesting talk on mushrooms.   They made them sound like little people!

Anyway, they have a package of stuff called coffee mushrooms because you grow the oyster mushrooms in coffee grounds in a 5 gallon bucket.  It takes 4 – 6 weeks and then you have mushrooms.   I got the coffee grounds, from Forest Coffee House in Travelers Rest.   I have a couple questions about what I am supposed to do so hope to get my mushroom spores planted in the next day or so and then the bucket goes in the basement. They also have many other ways you can grow mushrooms in logs, woodchips, etc.   The company is Mushroom Mountain Http://mushroommountain.com. 

There farm is about 45 minutes from my house.  In a week or so they are having a tour so I have Bob and I signed up.   I wouldn’t be surprised to come home with more stuff. There is also an Upstate Mushroom Club that goes mushroom hunting every month.  

Image

And before you ask, there are no magic mushrooms, at least as far as I know.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

