Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Dining Out

Leave a comment

I’M BACK!

I have been so busy it has been hard to find time to write but I have also found I miss writing my blog and I have had several people contact me to make sure I was ok so I will start getting you caught up with our busy life.

We got an evening invitation to Greenville Tech. Cullinary school dinner so we attended that with our friends Al and G. Ann.   This one was a Russian theme dinner.   Delicious as always.   Last year we went to another Russian meal  but this menu was totally different.   The meal was really perfect.  I couldn’t find anything not to like.

Russian Menu

Georgian Beet Pkhali   – This was fabulous.
Sliced Yellow and Candy Stripe Beets in Garlic Walnut Sauce
with Baby Greens and Fennel Salad

Pureé of Root Vegetables
With Siberian Pelmeni Dumplings, Wilted Cabbage and
Horseradish-Chive Foam

Salmon Kulebiaka – perfectly prepared
with Wild Rice and Mushroom Filling
White & Green Spring Asparagus
Dill Sour Cream Sauce

Plum Baba
with Vanilla Poached Plums and Poppy Seed Cookie

Newcomers had their first Beermeister gathering.  This will be a monthly meeting to sample and discuss beers.   Bob and I certainly aren’t as interested in beer as we are in wine and don’t like the heavy dark beers that the real beer people like but it was fun and we had a good turnout.  I’m sure we will go from time to time.

Our big splurge was something called Sip and Sup on March 2.   The location was on the rooftop of a wine bar in downtown Greenville.   It was expensive but very unusual and worth it.  What first caught my eye about the event was that it was paring a Chef from the Green Room here in Greenville, a restaurant I like, with a Chef and a winery called Chateau Elan, a vineyard and winery and resort outside of Atlanta.   A couple years ago I spent a long weekend there with a girlfriend when they had a wine festival and food and wine paring outdoors in the vineyard and it was fantastic.

Chateau Elan provided the wine and the two chefs each made courses so we had two different wines,  two appetizers, two entrees, two starches, two vegetables, two breads and two desserts.   There were about 30 people there.   There were only 5 of us over 30 or so which surprised me.   On March 2 it was still pretty cool so I was glad we dressed warm.   Bob didn’t believe me when I told him I thought we would be eating outside.    Here is the menu.  As you can see we had plenty to eat and we brought home enough in take home boxes for 6 more meals!

Appetizers  – Both appetizers were excellent.   I couldn’t pick a favorite.
Ahi Tuna Tar Tar
Sesame chips and spicy ginger glaze
Chef Patrick Long
Wine – Sauvignon Blanc

Shrimp Escabeche
Tomato-avocado bruschetta with blood orange gastrique
Chef Justin Kurtz
Wine – Pinot Noir

Main Course
Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin with Apple Relish
served with roasted brussels sprouts, parsnip and celery root mash – These sides were especially good.
Chef Patrick Long
Wine – Scarlet – Liked this wine

Rosemary and Sherry Braised Lamb Shank a  -This was delicious, so tender.

(Somehow Bob talked the chef out of another Lamb Shank to take home and we had 4 more meals out of it)
Confit fingerling potatoes and roasted garlic haricot vert
Chef Justin Kurtz
Wine – Muscadry

Desserts
Brown Butter Cake with Balsamic Soaked Strawberries
Chef Patrick Long

Lavendar Chocolate Cake
Almond lace cookie with orange chantilly cream
Chef Justin Kurtz
Wine – Port

One interesting side note, the city requires them to have plastic glasses.  ICK  for wine tasting.   So why am I more in danger of cutting my feet on a roof top vs. a restaurant or a sidewalk?

Fay on the deck before dinner.  As you can see no leaves on the trees yet.
IMG_0223

The table set where we ate

IMG_0233

Dessert

IMG_0248 I would definitely go if they do this again, just when it is warmer.   Chateau Elan right now doesn’t sell wine here but they want to establish a presence.  In Georgia the only grape you can grow is Muscadine, which is not one I like very much, but they are trying new things with the grapes to make it much less sweet and I must say they are making progress.   They had a sparkling appetizer wine that was drinkable.   They make a wide variety of other non muscadine red and white wines but they bring the grapes or juice in from outside Georgia.  If you are around Atlanta this property is a must see.   Resort and golf course and spa are fantastic and then there is the winery.   One of the largest I have seen.  Learn more here http://www.chateauelan.com/

Siip is a very nice spot in downtown Greenville  to just go have a glass of wine and appetizers and look around the city on a nice evening.  I might be the oldest person there but that’s ok.

https://www.facebook.com/SipRooftop

After abstaining for awhile I am back into buying groupons, deal chickens and living social restaurant discounts.  Looking forward to some new dining experiences.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a Reply

