Life Part Two

The adventures of Fay and Bob as they move beyond the 9 to 5 life

Rock and Roll Heaven

Leave a comment

Rock and Roll Heaven is where Bob and I were this afternoon at the Centre Stage performance Rock and Roll Heaven  2.   WOW!  Everything we have seen at Centre Stage has been very good but this was spectacular.   I would have expected to see a performance of this quality on Broadway in New York for $120 a ticket, not in Greennville for $30 a ticket. 

The band, dancers and singers were all fantastic.   Not a weak one in the bunch.   There were 8 singers and two dancers.  The band had up to 4 guitars, drums, keyboard and a saxaphone player who was my absolute favorite, Doug Norwine.   He has  played in numerous well known groups including Four Seasons, Frankie Valli, Bette Middler, etc.  as well in movies as JFK and True Lies.  They gave him many opportunities to show case his great talent.

We were treated to about 30 pieces of music ranging from heavy guitar tunes, gospel, blues and ballads.  What a trip down memory lane as we listened to Elvis, Chuck Berry, Wilson Pickett, Jimi Hendrix, Ray Charles, The Guess Who, Jim Croce, James Brown and others. There were only a couple songs Bob and I didn’t know.  How difficult it must have been to pick only 30 from all the great music in the 50’s to the 80’s?  The noise level was high but not uncomfortable, just right,  and best of all I could actually understand the lyrics they sang.   I hate it when I am listening to vocals and I can’t understand the words!  To say it was fast paced and high energy would be an understatement.  My big regret is that we didn’t go last year!

Bob and I aren’t country music fans but after listening to this and hearing them do a Johnny Cash tune I am tempted to get tickets for their Kings of Country and Their Queens in August.

Author: Fay

Follow the adventures of Fay and Bob, 65 plus, as they explore the country to look for a new home, sell their MN home, finally move and get settled into a new state and town.

Leave a comment